Curriculum, Culture and Difference: the Case of Multieducation Emphasizing Sciences

This project increases preoccupations of earlier projects about how the difference is being thematized in the curricular texts, focusing more specifically on texts referring to the natural sciences. It is based on the conception of curriculum as cultural enunciation which, in line with post-colonial authors like H. Bhabha, S. Hall and A. Appadurai, I have sought to develop as a way of reinstating the question of agency in the context of a curricular theory, emphasizing the discursive. In that way, the curriculum is seen as enunciation, as representation, unlike what happens in studies in which culture is seen as a teaching object. Taking care to avoid essentialism as much as relativism, this project seeks to politicize the processes of signification, which is why, at S. Hall’s suggestion, policy is considered a space for hegemonic articulation. To do so, post-Marxist and post-structural approaches of E. Laclau and C. Mouffe are used as bases. With this theoretical situation, the research will seek to understand the process whereby the curricular texts have filled, through hegemonic articulations, empty signifiers at their cores, among which, particularly, is the idea of educational quality. The hypothesis, based on earlier studies, is that these chains have addressed a universal subject and worked against the demands for difference arising more frequently each day in Brazilian society. This hypothesis will be developed, in the perspective of a situated theory, from studying a specific curricular policy, Multieducation, in the 10 years it has existed. The focus will be on one of the enunciation spaces-times of the proposal, i.e. the Municipal Education Department. That space-time will be viewed as a place where micropolitical struggles are fought by a political community formed by different interest groups.

Abrir Documento

Período: 2008 a 2011

Coordenador(es): Elizabeth Macedo

Equipe: Albertino Africano Mendes Rodrigues ● Aura Helena Ramos ● Bonnie Axer ● Claudia Almeida Ferreira ● Francisca Pereira Salvino ● Guilherme Augusto Rezende Lemos ● Jorcelina Elisabeth Fernandes ● Nathalia Otaviano da Rocha ● Rafael Correia Dantas ●

Outros financiamentos: CNPq / Faperj / UERJ
Compartilhe esta página: